Taekwondo Forms Videos




1st Form: TaeGeuk Il Jang

Belt: White to Yellow


2nd Form: TaeGeuk Ee Jang

Belt: Yellow to Orange


3rd Form: TaeGeuk Sam Jang

Belt: Orange to Green


4th Form: TaeGeuk Sah Jang

Belt: Green to Blue


5th Form: TaeGeuk Oh Jang

Belt: Blue to Purple


6th Form: TaeGeuk Yook Jang

Belt: Purple to Brown


7th Form: TaeGeuk Chil Jang

Belt: Brown to Red


8th Form: TaeGeuk Pal Jang

Belt: Red to Red/Black


9th Form: Koryo

Belt: Red/Black to 1st Black




All Black Belt Forms

10. Koryo
Black 1st Dan Poom
11. Keumgang
12. Taebaek
Black 3rd Dan Poom
13. Pyeongwon
Black 4th Dan Poom
14. Sipjin
Black 5th Dan
15. Jitae
Black 6th Dan
16. Cheon Kwon
Black 7th Dan
17. Han Soo
Black 8th Dan
18. Il Yo
Black 9th Dan

Ten Rules of Poomse –

  1. When assuming the ready stance, be calm, cautious, and courageous. This is displayed through a show of power with the hands in a fist.
  2. Focus all your concentration on the task at hand. Shut out all other noises and distractions.
  3. Maintain objective focus. Look straight ahead in executing a block, punch or kick. You should see and visualize the target area.
  4. Execution of every movement must be dynamic. Maximum power should be displayed with every block, kick and punch.
  5. When a yell (kihap) is called for, it must be sharp and loud, reflecting the strong spirit of the performer.
  6. In turning, look first, then turn. Remember that in forms, one defends against multiple imaginary attackers. You must see the attackers before you can defend against them.
  7. Seemingly endless repetition of the poomse (over 1,000 times per form) is the key to mastering and complete understanding of the form.
  8. After many years, the student begins to discover the mental and spiritual nature of Taekwondo through the poomse.
  9. At the completion of the form, return to the ready stance – calmly, gracefully, and with satisfaction.
  10. Watching someone perform a poomse who has mastered it can be a breathtaking site. Always remember poomse is a performance. One should challenge himself/herself each time a form is performed.

Scoring –

  1. The Referee and Judges shall award a score, on a scale of five to ten, ten being the highest.
  2. If five judges system is used, the highest and lowest scores will be dropped from the total computation. In case of a tie, all scores will be computed to break the tie.
  3. If a three judge system is used, all scores will be computed. In case of a tie, the closest set of scores to the mean will be the winner.
  4. Scores will be based on:

*The correct and orderly execution of each movement.
* Degree of proficiency, which will be, judged on the basis of:

1.Beginning an ending on the same spot;
2.Executing powerful and speedily technique by tensing and relaxing muscles at the proper moments;
3.Mental concentration;
4.Focused eye and hand movements;
5.Accurate targets;
6.Inhaling and exhaling at the proper moment;
9.Synchronization of entire body movements;
10.Taekwondo attitude.