Student Handbook

The Student Ranks: When you first walk into our school you will notice that the students all wear different colored belts representing rank.  This is part of the martial arts tradition and is used to indicate the level of accomplishment and mastery of skills.  As you increase your level of skill, you will move up through the ranks by changing the color of your belt to symbolize your achievement.
When you begin your training at National School of Martial Arts, you will be taught separately from the advanced class with personalized instruction at your own pace.  You will start as a “white belt”, and when you are ready, you will be pretested and invited to your first belt rank promotion exam.    After demonstrating your skill level in many of the basic moves you have learned, you will be awarded your first promotion to yellow belt.  With each official rank you will also receive a certificate of promotion as an official certification of your skill.

Kihap –

*It adds power to your strikes and kicks.

*It tightens your abdominal muscles, which helps protect you from blows and falls and helps prevent protect you from having the wind knocked out of you. It helps you overcome your own fear.

* It will help frighten your opponent.

* It can help you overcome any pain you might be feeling.

The Rank Promotion Procedure –

Achieving each new rank requires you to demonstrate specific techniques and skills. Your instructor will monitor your progress and will invite you to the next scheduled rank promotion date when he feels you are ready. A minimal fee is charged for each exam, to cover the cost of the examiners’ time, your new belt, testing supplies and your certificate.
Belt Form (Poomse) Techniques

White (9th Gup)


Kicks, Breaking, Sparring and Knowledge as directed by Master Joe

Yellow (8th Gup)

Kiboom Poomse

Orange (7th Gup)

TaeGeuk Il Jang

Green (6th Gup)

TaeGeuk Ee Jang

Blue (5th Gup)

TaeGeuk Sam Jang

Purple (4th Gup)

TaeGeuk Sa Jang

Brown (3rd Gup)

TaeGeuk Oh Jang

Red (2d Gup)

TaeGeuk Yuk Jang

Red/Black (1st Gup)

TaeGeuk Chil Jang

TaeGeuk Pal Jang

Black 1st Dan/Poom


Black 2d Dan/Poom


Black 3d Dan/Poom


Black 4th Dan/Poom


Black 5th Dan


Black 6th Dan


Black 7th Dan Cheon Kwon
Black 8th Dan Han Soo
Black 9th Dan Il Yo